If someone told me a year ago that UNC would win the national championship late on a Monday night AND I would get to attend the Masters on Saturday and Sunday, I probably wouldn’t have believed it. But it happened, it really happened. It’s one of the moments you look back on and you almost have to pinch yourself, did it really happen?

2016 was an awful sports year as a fan for me. Two of my teams lost in the championship game (Panthers/Heels) and the Braves were in the middle of a huge rebuilding year. It made me reflect on how important sports are in some people’s lives.

When I say that 2017 has been the best sports year I’ve ever experienced I’m not lying. Yes it’s only April, but I’ve already seen my school win a National Championship as a Senior (talk about dream come true) and been to one of the greatest sporting events in the world in Augusta.

The Masters is a magical place to be. It was almost surreal walking onto the course. This was a place I had seen on tv dozens of times, but there is nothing that can compare to being there and walking across the course. Standing feet away from the likes of Phil Mickelson, Sergio Garcia, and Rickie Fowler, it was amazing.

I even got to meet Aaron Rodgers, the Packers’ QB.

What are the chances? National Championship, attending the Masters, and meeting Aaron Rodgers while at Augusta. Can’t wait to see what the rest of 2017 has in store.

 

Leave a Reply

