This blog post is a little different from the recent ones I’ve been doing. It does have to do with where we are going, and by we I’m really talking about college seniors. I know I’m not the only one getting ready to graduate, not the only one with a lot of uncertainty in my life, but regardless it’s easy to feel that way.

I mean after all, the rest of my birthdays seem meaningless at this point, just like everyone told me they would after you turn 21. Growing up is scary.

I think this time in our lives demands a lot of soul searching, even more so than leaving home after high school did. There’s a lot of pressure to be successful, especially after graduating from prestigious universities. Nobody wants to have to rely on their parents at this point in their lives. I think all of those things make this time in our lives particularly challenging.

One day I’m confident I’ll look back on this stressful stage and laugh, but understand that this period was one of the most defining periods of my lifetime. Luckily, there are tons of other people out there feeling the same thing, outside of the lucky, extremely qualified ones who already have job offers or have accepted a job.

At the end of the day, I really think the most important thing, aside from applying for jobs, is to enjoy the rest of the time we have left in school.

It’s hard to believe that I really only have one month of college left. Leaving UNC won’t be easy, but not everything in life comes easy. Here’s to hoping for stability in our lives again, sooner rather than later.

And if you need any inspiration here you go.

Leave a Reply

